Waste Water Treatment

The sanitary sewer system includes three waste water treatment plants, located at Academy Creek in the City of Brunswick, near I-95 Exit 29 in Glynn County, and on St. Simons Island. Each plant has its own sewer collection system.

The sewer collection systems operate under the gravity flow method, and include a total of 198 lift stations, 286 miles of collection sewer lines, and 90 miles of force main lines.

The sewer systems serve 90 percent of the area within the city limits, and 35 percent of the county. Jekyll Island and Sea Island operate their own sewer systems, and Sea Island sewage is discharged to the St. Simons Island water pollution control plant. All other areas of the county not served by the BGJWSC sewer systems are served by individual septic systems.

The Georgia Department of Natural Resources Environmental Protection Division (EPD) regulates water treatment systems throughout Georgia according to guidelines established by the Georgia Water Quality Control Act. The system’s sewer operations also are regulated by the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, or Clean Water Act, which is administered by the Federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) through the EPD.

Through its comprehensive asset management program, the BGJWSC continually monitors and upgrades the system to maintain compliance, ensure quality service and be good stewards of the environment.

WWTF_Capacity_Rating_March_2017 – Posted 4/14/17